Why is the golden gate bridge called the golden gate bridge?

The Golden Gate Bridge is named after the strait it crosses - the Golden Gate strait. The name was given in 1846 by Captain John C. Frémont in analogy to the Golden Horn of the Bosporus in Turkey.