How did sloppy joe's get their name?

In 1917, Spanish cook and bar owner José "Sloppy Joe" Abeal y Otero created "a simple sandwich filled with ground beef stewed in tomatoes. The dish originated in Havana, Cuba and was brought to the United States during the early 20th century.