What is canyon earring?

Canyoneering is a hobby involving the scaling, swimming, boating, and general navigation of canyons and gulches. It is often chosen by people who would like to be spelunkers but suffer from debilitating claustrophobia. Not that there aren't small spaces to squeeze through in canyons...