How many ice ages has the earth gone through?

At least five major ice ages have occurred throughout Earth's history: the earliest was over 2 billion years ago, the most recent one began approximately 3 million years ago and continues today. Yes, we live in an ice age!. Currently, we are in a warm interglacial that began about 11,000 years ago.