Do mushrooms go bad?

Fresh whole mushrooms can be kept for about 4-7 days if stored in a paper bag and properly refrigerated. They will spoil faster in an airtight container. Soft, discolored, or slimy mushrooms have spoiled and should be discarded.

---

Like most other fresh vegetables, mushrooms do expire. You can usually tell by feeling if your mushrooms have gone bad as they develop a sticky and or slimy surface and get darker in color.