What is the definition of the word germain?

Germain, spelt G-E-R-M-A-I-N is an obsolete spelling of the word Germane, G-E-R-M-A-N-E, which means "closely related to the matter at hand". When someone applies for a mortgage, they are asked to provide some germane information, such as their income, credit score and the price of the home.