What happened to buck on nine one one last season?

While responding to a 911 call, Buck is caught up in an explosion orchestrated by Freddie Costas that leaves his leg pinned to the ground by a fallen ladder truck. It takes the assistance of several Los Angeles citizens and the rest of the 118 to lift the truck off of Buck's leg.