What was the average height of a man in the eighteen hundreds?

In the early 1800s, the Cheyenne people of North America were among the tallest in the world, with an average male height of about 5 feet 10 inches.

---

According to Steckel's analysis, heights decreased from an average of 68.27 inches (173.4 centimeters) in the early Middle Ages to an average low of roughly 65.75 inches (167 cm) during the 17th and 18th centuries.