What is a cartoon genre?

There are many different 'Genre's in Cartoons'. 'Anime' is a Japanese style. 'Traditional' includes 'Flintstones', 'Jetsons'. And 'ADULT' includes shows like 'Rick & Morty' & 'Family Guy'...which are meant fir older teenagers & adults...due to Language and Sexuality and even Violence.