What is palladium used for?

Palladium is one of a number of metals starting to be used in the fuel cells to power a host of things including cars and buses. Palladium is also used in catalytic reactions in industry such as in hydrogenation of unsaturated hydrocarbons, as well as in jewellery and in dental fillings and crowns.

---

The largest use of palladium today is in catalytic converters in vehicle exhaust systems, however, it is also used in jewelry, dentistry, watch making, blood sugar test strips, aircraft spark plugs, surgical instruments, and electrical contacts.