What does waiting for the other shoe to drop mean?

Waiting for the other shoe to drop goes back to an old fairytale about a giant who lived upstairs. When you heard one shoe drop you might think he is gone to bed, but you have to be careful and quiet until the other shoe drops. After 2 shoes fall you know he is sleeping and you are safe.