Why do dogs kick their legs when you scratch them?

A cluster of nerves located under the skin makes up the dog sweet spot. When you scratch your pet's tummy and hit this spot, these nerves get activated and send a message to the hind leg, via the spinal cord, to start kicking in an attempt to dislodge the source of irritation.