How much does an average elephant weigh?

Male African elephants weigh between 1,800 and 6,300 kg (2 and 7 tons/ 4,000 and 14,000 lb.). Females are smaller and weigh between 2,700 and 3,600 kg (3 and 4 tons/ 6,000 and 8,000 lb.).