How many americans live in poverty?

In 2020, there were 37.2 million people in poverty, approximately 3.3 million more than in 2019 (Figure 8 and Table B-1). Between 2019 and 2020, the poverty rate increased for non-Hispanic Whites and Hispanics.Jan 21, 2022 according to the U.S. census.