What is the difference between a waffle and a pancake?

Pancake batter and waffle batter contain similar ingredients, but the proportions of eggs, flour, sugar, milk, and butter are different. Waffle batter contains more sugar, butter, and eggs than pancake batter, making it a richer batter with higher fat content. Pancake batter contains more milk.