How do you survive in fortnite?

Land somewhere quiet. Most people land on the roof of houses as chests spawn inside the roofs, also check under stairways. Get a gun ASAP. If you find shield drink it ASAP. Practice getting used to where the chests spawn. If you are landing with a squad, stay with them.