What is seven seas?

The "Seven Seas" is a figurative term for all the seas of the known world. The term can now also be taken to refer to these seven oceanic bodies of water: the Arctic, North Atlantic, South Atlantic, Indian, North Pacific, South Pacific, and Southern/Antartic Oceans.