Why are dumbbells called dumbbells?

“Dumbbells" originated in England- Athletes used hand-held church bells to exercise. These bells were heavier than usual, so swirling up and down while exercising caused a great deal of noise. The clappers were eventually removed and hence the name "dumb", as in "no sound", and "bell" - dumbbell.

---

according to quora dot com, Originally (early 18th century) the term was applied to an exercise apparatus in which a weight was swung by pulling a rope, like a church bell but not making sound hence “dumb bell”