Who is mr. slate?

Mr. Slate (known in earlier episodes as J.J. Granite or Mr. Rockhead) is Fred's boss at the Bedrock Quarrel and Gravel Company (later known as Slate Rock and Gravel Company) and a fictional character of the original serie