Do pomegranates need to be refrigerated?

The best way to store pomegranates is in the refrigerator. While whole pomegranates can be kept on the counter, they can be stored longer in the refrigerator. Once removed from their protective skin, pomegranate seeds should be refrigerated in an airtight container