Who played cyrano de bergerac?

Gérard Depardieu Played Cyrano de Bergerac in the 1990 film. There was a film produced in 1987 that had the same plot, it was called Roxanne and starred Steve Martin. The original play was written by an English man, Edmond Rostand, in 1897.