What temperature do pipes burst?

At 32 degrees Fahrenheit, water freezes. In freezing, it can expand and crack the water pipe. The temperature required for freezing can be reduced if the pipe is pressurized or if water is flowing through it. Allowing a sink to slowly drip on cold nights can help prevent freezing.