Is frank a bad word?

"Frank," spelled F R A N K, is not an offensive word. However, by being "frank," you can certainly offend someone; frankness is honesty without cushioning. Someone who prefaces, "if I'm being frank," is about to say something truthful that could be taken as criticism.