What's the difference between an ale and a lager?

The difference is in how they are fermented. Ales are fermented with top-fermenting yeast at warm temperatures (60˚to 70˚degrees farenheit), and lagers are fermented with bottom-fermenting yeast at cold temperatures (35˚to 50˚degrees fairenheit)