What is the irish i. r. a.?

The IRA is the Irish Republican Army was a group who were responsible for bombings and attacks on the British Military. It was considered a terrorist organization operating in Northern Ireland and Belfast in the early 70s through 80s. Their primary focus was to rid British rule from Ireland.