What does u. v. light do?

Ultraviolet light falls within the EM spectrum between visible light and X-rays. Caution should be exercised around higher ranges of UV light as they may cause eye damage and/or skin cancer. UV light is used to make florescent chemicals glow, cure UV reactive materials, lasers, and for tanning.