At what age is a puppy not a puppy?

In general, puppies become adult dogs between one and two years of age. But it's not like they wake up the morning of their first birthday and are suddenly grown-up dogs! In fact, puppy maturation is a process, and it varies from dog to dog depending on size, breed, socialization, and more.