Who wrote the battle hymn of the republic?

Battle Hymn of the Republic was written by New York poet, Julia Ward Howe, during the United States Civil War, as a pro-Union, anti-slavery anthem. The song, as we know it today, was actually a rewrite of a song made up by Union soldiers, entitled John Brown's Body.