How do you stop scratching?

There are several ways to stop scratching but stopping the itch depends on what the cause is. Apply a cold, wet cloth or ice pack to the skin that itches. Moisturize your skin. Apply topical anesthetics. Apply cooling agents, such as menthol or calamine.