What are bones made out of?

Bones are made of a framework of collagen and a mineral called calcium phosphate. Bones also have cells called osteoblasts that grow and repair bone tissue and osteoclasts that break down bone tissue. Bone marrow contains precursor cells that mature into red cell, white cells and platelets.