What was the first amphibian?

Elginerpeton is the first amphibian.

---

The earliest amphibian discovered to date is Elginerpeton, found in Late Devonian rocks of Scotland dating to approximately 368 million years ago. The later Paleozoic saw a great diversity of amphibians, ranging from small legless swimming forms (Aistopoda) to bizarre "horned" forms (Nectridea).