Is star wars based on a book?

No. However, Star Wars was novelized after its release under the title Star Wars: From the Adventures of Luke Skywalker. The novelization was ghostwritten by Alan Dean Foster but credited to George Lucas.

---

No, the script for Star Wars was written by George Lucas specifically to make his trilogy. Because the story line was too line to fit in a single movie, George Lucas decided to start in the middle of the story in the hope of finishing his story one day.