How does a cocker spaniel bark?

Dogs do not have a "voice box" that is necessary to modulate expelled air forming human speech. Dogs can expel volumes of air by rapid movement of the diaphragm. Movements of the dog's mouth cause this burst of air to be a bark sound rather than just a "oomph" sound.