Why do they call boobytraps boobytraps?

The word ‘booby’ dates from the 1600’s at least, and refers to someone who is foolish or dim (stupid) and easy to fool. The term "booby trap" gives rise to the idea that an individual with the misfortune to be caught in the trap does so because the individual is a "booby"