What is a nitrogenous base?

A nitrogenous base is a molecule that contains nitrogen and acts like a base, which means that it can donate electrons, accept protons, or releases hydroxide ions in an aqueous solution. One of the places you'll find nitrogenous bases is in your own DNA.