Are wolves related to cats?

No. Domestic dogs and wolves are part of a large taxonomic family called Canidae, which also includes coyotes, foxes and jackals, according to the Integrated Taxonomic Information System. Members of this family are called canids.

---

They’re not closely related. However, there is a mutation known as, “Lykoi.” The Lykoi is a natural mutation from a domestic shorthair that has the appearance of a werewolf.