What's the difference between small pox and monkey pops?

Smallpox and monkeypox, are both part of the orthopoxvirus family, so they're caused by similar but distinct viruses. Monkeypox is less severe compared to smallpox, but both have similar symptoms. The large lymph nodes caused by monkeypox, differentiate it from smallpox.