What's the difference between a links golf course and a regular golf course?

The difference between a links golf course and a regular course is that the golfer is forced to work with the natural elements of the course. The links course is not manufactured and maintains the original lay of the land. This emulates how it was in the earliest days of the game

---

A links golf course is an area of coastal land that is sandy and unsuitable for agriculture. Links courses retain the natural contours of the land and more closely emulates the way the game was first played. Modern courses tend to shape the land to provide a good player and spectator experience.