How do you grow asparagus?

According to the University of Minnesota Extension Office, plant seed in spring, about one inch deep, spaced two to three inches apart, within rows that are a foot apart. Seeds can take three weeks to germinate. Seedlings will not be able to compete with strong weed growth.