Who is willie willie winkie?

Wee Willie Winkie was a character in Scottish nursery rhyme from 1841. The first verse of which in English is: Wee Willie Winkie runs through the town, Up stairs and down stairs in his night-gown, Tapping at the window, crying at the lock, Are the children in their bed, for it's past ten o'clock?