Where is the sension island?

Ascension Island is an isolated volcanic island, 7°56′ south of the Equator in the South Atlantic Ocean. It is about 1,000 miles (or 1,600 km) from the coast of Africa and 1,400 miles (or 2,300 km) from the coast of Brazil. It was discovered by the Portuguese navigator, João da Nova, in 1501.