Is a thumb a finger?

The thumb is the shortest and thickest digit in the human hand. The thumb’s anatomy and function differ slightly from the other fingers, so some people may not consider it a finger. However, as one of the five terminal members of the hand, most medical guides refer to the thumb as a finger.