What is the difference between brown sugar and white sugar?

The main difference between brown sugar and white sugar is the brown sugar either still contains molasses, or has had it added if it came from a source that didn't naturally include it. When baking, you can go 1:1 between the two, but brown sugar generally produces softer baked goods.