What's the difference between turmeric and cumin?

Tumeric as a spice is made from the rhizome of the tumeric plant and imparts an earthy, bitter, and peppery flavour to food as well as a bright yellow colour. Cumin is made from the seeds of the cumin plant and imparts a rich and slightly citrusy flavour to food