What's rice syndrome?

Rice syndrome is a rare genetic disorder characterized by scaly, fish-like skin, thickened, wiry hair, and thickened skin on the palms and soles. It is caused by a gene mutation that leads to a malfunction of an enzyme important for the formation of the skin barrier. Symptoms are present at birth.