Are pumpkin seeds nuts?

No, pumpkin seeds are not nuts. A nut is a fruit consisting of a hard or tough nutshell protecting a kernel which is usually edible. In botany, seed is an undeveloped plant embryo and food reserve enclosed in a protective outer covering.