When was canada discovered?

Between 1534 and 1542, Jacques Cartier made three voyages across the Atlantic, claiming the land for King Francis I of France. Cartier heard two captured guides speak the Iroquoian word Kanata, meaning “village.” By the 1550s, the name of Canada began appearing on maps.