What is the definition of a preposition?

A preposition is a word or group of words used before a noun, pronoun, or noun phrase to show direction, time, place, location, spatial relationships, or to introduce an object.

---

A preposition comes before a noun and connects it to another part of the sentence. Some common English prepositions include in, of, on for and with.