What does a glycerin melon do in minecraft?

Glistering Melons are an item that is crafted by placing eight gold nuggets and a melon slice in the crafting interface (1 nugget before 13w23a). They are used mainly for brewing potions with the instant health effect. It can replace redstone in the brewing recipe for a mundane potion.