Why do dogs sleep upside down?

In the same way curling in a ball conserves heat, sleeping with an exposed belly helps a dog cool off. It's also a position that indicates a dog is very comfortable, leaving their most sensitive areas vulnerable and making it hard to get on their feet quickly